Customer Reviews

  • We had a wonderful time

    A review of Brändön Lodge - Pick and Mix by The Colantoni Family
    20 February 2017

    We had a wonderful time and appreciated how quickly you responded to our request when one of our activities was cancelled due to the weather. Very quick to refund the difference in cost between booked activity and what we actually did instead.

  • The whole family enjoyed it

    A review of Finland – Ranua Pick and Mix by The Hotson Family
    19 February 2017

    The food was basic but very good; it was great to try local dishes. It was more difficult to get my children to try them, though! Snowmobile safari was great fun. Two-hour duration was just right as it's quite hard work to steer them. The whole family enjoyed it, from my wife who hates the cold (and wasn't) through to my grumpy teenage daughter who said "Thanks, Dad, that was a great holiday" when
    Read more
    we got back home.
    Read less

  • Everything was perfect

    A review of Nellim Half-Term Aurora Adventure by The Willard family group
    18 February 2017

    Everything was perfect - from our initial conversation with a very knowledgeable sales person to the holiday itself. Pre-travel information was great and everyone we dealt with both in the UK and at the resort were so helpful. The hotel was fantastic at dealing with my daughter's dietary restrictions and could not do enough for her. We particularly enjoyed the husky ride. It was fantastic fun and
    Read more
    everyone loved it. The dogs were fantastic and the amazing scenery was incredible. Our group was of mixed ages from 12-70. We had an amazing trip and loved every minute of it. My only comment would be that my parents found some of the activities quite hard going. Their health had deteriorated slightly in the 10 months since we originally booked which I am sure contributed to this. They had a go at everything with the exception of the activity on the last day as they were too tired and were glad they did but it was possibly a bit too full on for them. The rep at the resort (Dan) was absolutely brilliant and very patient with us - including taking my mum to the hospital when she cut her head. We would absolutely recommend both the hotel and the company- possibly the best family holiday we have ever had.
    Read less

  • Holiday of a lifetime!

    A review of Brändön Lodge Frozen Archipelago Adventure by Philip, Audrey and Annie Martin
    15 February 2017

    A truly magical experience! We saw the Northern Lights twice; my daughter caught a fish; the dog sledding was a huge adrenalin rush; the hovercraft trip fantastic; the final meal out on the ice delicious! Couple this with amazing scenery, great food and friendly knowledgeable people and we had our ideal holiday of a lifetime!

  • Overall the holiday was superb!

    A review of Finland – Ranua Pick and Mix by Hazel Carlo and Tia Petherbridge
    13 February 2017

    Had an amazing time staying at Gulo Gulo Holiday Village in Ranua, Lapland with my niece. Beautiful surroundings and friendly staff. The little zoo was lovely and looked like the animals were looked after properly. We did the Wild Night Safari which was great and informative, we saw the majority of the animals as they are more active at night, but it was very slippery. The horse-drawn carriage
    Read more
    safari was lovely and relaxing as well as the reindeer safari. The husky safari was amazing, I was very nervous at first as they were so strong and eager to get going but soon got the hang of it. My niece even got to drive it which was great. I wish I picked a longer one as it was over very quickly but would love to do it again. Overall the holiday was superb!
    Read less

  • The holiday was excellent from A to Z

    A review of Luosto Snow and Ski Active Pick and Mix by The Kanellopoulou-Warman Family
    12 February 2017

    The holiday was excellent from A to Z: from the pre-booking and info phase to our return to the UK. All activities were very enjoyable indeed as we tried almost everything. It would be very hard to distinguish: all members of the family thoroughly enjoyed the holiday and we were lucky enough to have the extra bonus of the Northern Lights during our night snowshoeing hiking. An unforgettable
    Read more
    experience! We will certainly be back to try some summer destinations too. My kids are now huge fans of activity holidays! Kiitos to the UK team and your local rep, Greta! She was a great help esp. when we arrived and 2/4 suitcases were left at Heathrow. She made sure we had the essentials for the night. Our suitcases arrived the following morning right on time for our first activities so all ended well.
    Read less

  • A special week that will be imprinted in our memories forever!

    A review of Jeris Family Winter Cottage Adventure by The Sandys Family
    12 February 2017

    My wife and I booked to go to Finnish Lapland with our kids (aged 8 and 10) to have some Arctic wilderness adventures and to see the Northern Lights. Well, we were not disappointed! What a fantastically amazing and unique week we had. We stayed in a wood lodge, which was so lovely and warm. The sauna was used at least 3 times a day too. As for the activities...every day was different
    Read more
    with brilliantly run activities. The husky sledging was great fun. Snowmobiling at 50kph across a frozen lake - awesome. Snowshoeing and cross-country skiing were a great way to explore the snow-covered forests. Small groups and excellent guides, really enhanced the experiences we took part in.We were concerned our kids may not eat much, as they are fussy eaters, but how wrong we were. They had so much food every day and tried many a new thing. Varied and plentiful food all week. The Northern Lights. Well, what can I say? We hoped we would see them at least once. We saw them on 5 of the 7 nights, sometimes for hours at a time. Absolutely magical and breathtaking. Go to the middle of the frozen lake late at night to maximise the views. We were so blessed to see them for so long the week we went (you can pay 10 Euros to get a text alert for when they are out too. That helped us catch some unexpected displays too, right outside our cabin). The kids took to all the activities with excitement and enthusiasm and my wife and I had such a special week that will be imprinted in our memories forever!
    Read less

  • We had a fantastic holiday

    A review of Menesjärvi Half Term Northern Lights Adventure by Vera So, Andrew and James Bonsall
    11 February 2017

    We had a fantastic holiday. Everything we need to know is in the information pack. Very well organised. We loved it all. We think the arrangement is perfect. We really like the variety of activities and also enjoy the free time to explore on our own.

  • Fantastic family holiday!

    A review of Nellim Half-Term Aurora Adventure by Nicholas and Victoria Loh
    11 February 2017

    The husky safari was interactive and different. Good for both adults and kids. The holiday was excellent overall, the kids would complain that the Wi-Fi was not good enough but the adults saw this as a benefit! Dan (your rep) was really helpful and the staff and especially the chefs were very accommodating catering for a fussy teenagers tastes.

  • Every interaction with the company has been excellent

    A review of Menesjärvi Half Term Northern Lights Adventure by Duncan, Jane and Freya Milne
    11 February 2017

    This was the first holiday we have booked using Activities Abroad. I came across the company after an internet search for winter family holidays - after some research on company reviews, I gave Activities Abroad a call. From that moment - every interaction with the company has been excellent. I received really useful information and insight from the advisor (Barry Nolan) who guided me towards
    Read more
    Menesjärvi based on what kind of holidays my family enjoyed. We all (2 adults plus 12-year-old daughter) had an excellent time in Lapland. All of it was really enjoyable but the stand out was the husky sled safari and visiting the reindeer herder plus of course seeing the Northern Lights in this beautiful location. We all enjoyed everything we did and made the most of the "free" time to cross-country ski across the lake, snowshoe walk in the woods and sledging down the hill outside the hotel. No time was wasted. Great hosts and staff at the hotel and good quality provider of the other activities. Tanya at the husky dog safari was brilliant and very informative.
    Read less

Next
  • FAMILY SPECIALISTS

    Created by families for families

    Experience real adventures enjoyed safely

    Family friendly destinations and accommodation

    Maximising your precious family time

  • SHARED EXPERIENCES

    Family time, not screen time

    Family memories to treasure

    No kids clubs - Mum and Dad can play too

    Enjoy the company of like-minded families

  • INDEPENDENT

    Family owned and run

    Proudly Independent

    Personal, hands-on service

    Fair and sustainable work ethos

  • TRUSTED

    We safety check every activity so you don’t have to

    100% ATOL and ABTA protection

    Peace of mind promise

    Award-winning

MrZenTravel Website Development